• Quick search
  • Photographs
  • Bricks & Pledges
Quick search Advanced search ›Search tips
Photographs Advanced search ›Search tips
Bricks & pledges Search Tips (Bricks & Pledges)

Search Tips

Within search boxes:

  • Use & for AND (e.g. groundbreaking & nursing)
  • Use / for OR (e.g. groundbreaking / nursing)
  • Use ! for NOT (e.g. groundbreaking ! nursing)

Special Characters:

  • Use * to truncate
    (e.g. nurs* finds nurse, nursing, nurseries, etc.)
  • Use >, <, >=, <= for greater or less than
    (e.g. <= 1999 finds dates earlier than 1999 inclusive)
  • Use : to search a date range
    (e.g. 1999:2003)

Search Tips

Within search boxes:

  • Use & for AND (e.g. Eileen & Goldman)
  • Use / for OR (e.g. Eileen / Goldman)
  • Use ! for NOT (e.g. Eileen ! Goldman)

Special Characters:

  • Use * to truncate
    (e.g. Gold* finds Golda, Goldie, Goldberg, etc.)
Welcome
About us
Exhibits & Digitized Works (New)
Search by collections
Search the database
Finding aids & Glossary
Service rates
Copyright notice & Reproduction conditions
Submit a request
Make a Donation

 


 
Make a Donation
Archives Online Exhibition
A Glimpse Through the Samuel Cohen Fonds

Move mouse over the featured image to see caption. Click to enlarge the featured image in a new window.


Samuel Cohen was the first Executive Director of the JGH, a job which he began at the young age of 33 and stayed in until his retirement in 1967. He was born in New York and quickly distinguished himself as a hospital administrator, becoming the Assistant Director to Beth Israel in Manhattan in his early 30s. Allan Bronfman hired him for this position due to his admirable record and because of his strong commitment to Jewish values and his community.

A glimpse through Cohen’s boxes provides a fascinating look back at the history of the JGH. He kept records which provide both an administrative and intimate picture of the hospital’s history, from before it opened, through the difficult years of the Second World War, to the growing pains of the 1950s and 1960s. Cohen kept everything from early blueprints of the hospital, to receipts from coal and gas suppliers, as well as letters from women seeking to adopt babies and personal letters of thanks from family members whose relatives had received treatment at the Hospital.

Among many of the fascinating records which he kept are the ones that related to the Hospital’s role before and during the Second World War. Cohen was responsible for hiring hospital personnel and in 1933 he discussed with Allan Bronfman the possibility of hiring German Jewish Doctors stating “we might be able to get some outstanding physicians and surgeons who have been exiled from Germany and who were of international repute.” He also kept correspondence regarding Jewish refugees during the war some of whom he hired to work at the hospital. Other wartime records include quotas of oil and sugar, plans for a civil defence strategy and how to run a hospital when much needed supplies such as blood plasma and Penicillin were rationed.


The processing of this collection started in the summer of 2010 by Julia Betts, former Cataloguer and Archives Technician. This year, further cataloging and digitization were conducted to make the collection more accessible online. Not only is the gallery enriched with more digitized material, but the fonds and series level descriptions are also searchable in the online database and viewable from the Finding Aids & Glossary section of this website. 


Created in 2010, last updated on July 12, 2016.

Bienvenue
À propos de nous
Expos et ouvrages numérisés (Nouveau)
Recherche par collections
Recherche base de données
Instruments de recherche et Glossaire
Tarifs des services
Avis de droit d'auteur et Conditions de reproduction
Soumettre une demande
Faire un don
 


 
Faire un don
Archives - Exposition virtuelle

Un coup d'œil au fonds de Samuel Cohen

Déplacez la souris au dessus de l'image présenté pour voir la légende. Cliquez pour agrandir l'image présenté dans une nouvelle fenêtre.


Samuel Cohen a été le premier directeur exécutif de l’HGJ, un poste qu’il a commencé à tenir au jeune âge de 33 ans et où il est resté jusqu’à sa retraite, en 1967. Il est né à New York et s’est rapidement distingué comme administrateur d’hôpital, devenant le directeur adjoint de Beth Israel à Manhattan dans le début des années 30. Allan Bronfman l’a engagé dans son premier emploi en raison de ses antécédents remarquables et de son profond engagement envers les valeurs juives et sa communauté.

Un coup d’œil aux boîtes de Cohen donne une vision fascinante du passé de l’HGJ. Il a conservé des archives qui fournissent une image à la fois administrative et intime de l’histoire de l’Hôpital, depuis avant son ouverture, en passant par les années difficiles de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, jusqu’aux difficultés de croissance des années 50 et 60. Cohen a tout gardé, des premiers plans de l’Hôpital aux reçus des fournisseurs de charbon et de gaz, ainsi que des lettres de femmes cherchant à adopter des bébés et des lettres personnelles de remerciements de familles dont les membres avaient été soignés à l’Hôpital.

Parmi les nombreuses et fascinantes archives qu’il a conservées, on en trouve qui sont liées au rôle de l’Hôpital avant et pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Cohen était responsable du recrutement du personnel de l’Hôpital et, en 1933, il a discuté avec Allan Bronfman de la possibilité de recruter des médecins allemands juifs en déclarant « nous pourrions peut-être obtenir des médecins et des chirurgiens de premier ordre qui ont été exilés d’Allemagne et qui avaient une réputation internationale ». Il a aussi conservé de la correspondance sur des réfugiés juifs pendant la guerre, dont certains ont été engagés par lui pour travailler à l’Hôpital. D’autres archives datant de la guerre comprennent des quotas d’huile et de sucre, des plans pour une stratégie de défense civile et la façon de gérer un hôpital alors que des fournitures indispensables, telles que le plasma sanguin et la pénicilline, étaient rationnées.

Le traitement de cette collection a commencé à l'été 2010 par Julia Betts, technicienne de catalogage et d'archivage. Cette année, le catalogage et la numérisation ont encore été effectués pour rendre la collection plus accessible en ligne. Non seulement la galerie enrichie avec plus du matériel numérisé, mais les descriptions du fonds et des séries sont également consultables dans la base de données en ligne et visibles dans la section Instruments de recherche et de ce site web.


Créé en 2010, dernière mise à jour le 14 juillet 2016